Join & Invest / Friends Board, Committees, & Chairs

Friends of the Institute Board of Directors

2016-17 Executive Committee Officers
President: Connie Sommers
First VP: Katie Remole
Second VP/Research and Planning: JeanMarie Burtness
Treasurer: Melanie Nelson
Secretary: Shelly McGinnis
Development Relations: Robin Keyworth

Art in Bloom
2016-17 co-chairs: Teresa Pfister and Kris King
Produces the Friends spring fund-raiser, Art in Bloom, in cooperation with MIA staff.  More than 60 volunteers manage floral artists, the AIB Garden Shop, speaker arrangements, and all special events during the four-day event in late April/early May.

Art and Architecture
2016-2017 chair: Carrie Kilberg
Planning one trip a year for Friends-only.
Friends get an exclusive inside look at local art and architecture with historical interest.

Children’s Programs
2016-17 co-chairs: Joan Kampmeyer
Reviews proposed projects that will provide enriching opportunities for young people to experience and be inspired by the world of art.

2016-2017 chair: Boyde Ratchye
Liaison to Mia Docent Committee.

Friends-only Events
2016-17 co-chair: Ellen Archibald and Kris Bjorklund
Plans programs for the Friends membership, such as the Friends Book Club, special tours with MIA curators, or lectures by local artists.

2016-17 chair: Lynn Brofman
Organizes, researches, and maintains the Friends’ historical information.

2016-17 co-chairs: Sue Stillman and Lucy Backman
Plans and makes arrangements for coffees and luncheons that precede or follow the monthly Mary and Mark Fiterman Lecture series, presented by the Friends and Mia.

2016-17 co-chairs: Molly Van Metre and Jeanette Colby
Promotes Friends membership to the community and processes new and renewing memberships.

2016-17 co-chairs:  Mary Bachhuber and Teresa Luterbach
Edits the Friends newsletter, writing articles, conducting interviews, and compiling information as needed.

Nominating Committee
2016-17 chair: Pamela Friedland
Responsible for preparing and presenting a slate of officers for the Friends board to be elected at the annual meeting. Chaired by the immediate past president of the Friends Board.

Rochester President
2016-2017 chair: Lucy Bahn

Rochester Liason
2016-2017: Connie Crane
Liaison to Friends Rochester affiliate group.

Plants and Flowers
2016-17 co-chairs: Mary Meuwissen and Carol Pagac
Arranges for interior floral arrangements and winter holiday décor at the Mia.

St. Cloud President
2016-2017 Amanda Falloon

St. Cloud Liaison
2016-2017 chair: Vicki Klaers
Liaison to our St.Cloud affiliate.

The Mark and Mary Goff Fiterman Lecture Fund
2016-17 co-chairs: Michele Byfield Angel and Mary Merrick
Plans the Mary and Mark Fiterman Lecture Series and manages speakers’ in-town itineraries.

Transportation Fund
2016-17 chairs: Barbara Proeschel and Steve Hoster
Manages the disbursement of funds from the Friends Transportation Fund to cover transportation costs for metro-area children to visit the MIA for museum guide tours.

Volunteer Services
2016-17 chair: Anra Yetter
Provides volunteers for MIA and Friends projects as requested.