MAEP Artist Panel

The MAEP Artist Panel serves as a bridge between artistic communities in Minnesota and the museum. A seven-member panel is entrusted with the responsibility of surveying the creative diversity of Minnesota artists, recruiting artists to apply, and selecting one application which demonstrates exceptional promise and quality.

Nominations must follow the guidelines below in order to be considered.

Panelist Nominations

Open Period: May 9 through 15, 2022

  • All artists who currently live and work in Minnesota are eligible to nominate themselves, with the exception of degree-seeking students and Mia’s permanent staff.
  • Nominees must be over the age of 18.
  • Nominations are only accepted during the open period.
  • Nominations that are submitted via mail, email, or dropped off in person will not be accepted.


Voting and ballot counting occur via an online form during the open period.
Open Period: May 23 through May 29, 2022

MAEP Artist Panel Requirements

All artists who currently live and work in Minnesota are eligible for the MAEP Artist Panel, with the exception of degree-seeking students and permanent Mia staff.

The MAEP Artist Panel is compensated for their time and labor.

The MAEP Artist Panel is committed to diversity, inclusion, and accessibility. To learn more about Mia’s Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Accessibility Policy, click here.

Two positions on the MAEP Artist Panel are reserved for artists residing outside of the seven-county Twin Cities metro region (Hennepin, Ramsey, Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Washington, and Wright). The panel is not limited to two artists residing in Greater Minnesota. Should one or no artists from Greater Minnesota run for the MAEP Panel, then the panel may be formed from Metro-residing artists.

Reviews are done via the Submittable platform. Panelists must have access to a computer with Safari or Google Chrome browsers and have internet access to review proposals.

Panelists commit to reviewing three open calls over a two-week period during the months of July, November, and March. After reviewing, panelists hold a virtual meeting (Zoom or Google Meet) to select one application.

If a panelist is unable to attend a meeting, they must inform the MAEP Coordinator prior to the meeting.

Email your questions to Nicole Soukup, MAEP Coordinator,